Planning My Autumn Adventures

There’s no doubt about it, Autumn is most definitely here. Summer was blink-and-you’ll-miss-it, we only had a few really hot days, so I’m glad I got to go away for a bit to enjoy the much warmer Mediterranean weather. Now that I’m back I can feel a chill in the air, but then I’m the kind of person who’s always cold (I’m always getting told off for putting the heating on in my parent’s house) so maybe it’s just me! I’ll have to dig out my parka coat and winter boots soon and pack away the summer dresses and shorts that I have barely worn over the past few months.

I always get sad when summer is over. I’m not a winter person at all, I hate the fact it gets dark so early, that it rains more often, and that I have to layer up in thick clothes when I’d rather be swanning around in shorts and t-shirts. But I’m determined that this year, I won’t spend my time cooped up indoors feeling miserable. I always feel better when I’m out and about having adventures, so I’m starting to plan what I can do over the next few months to cheer me up.

Shopping!

If there is one thing guaranteed to put a smile on my face it’s buying new stuff and at least when the seasons change it’s an excuse to buy some new clothes. I struggle to buy winter clothes, jumpers always come up too short on me and I feel uncomfortable in jeans, so this year I am on the hunt for cosy oversized sweaters and comfy leggings to keep me warm.

Halloween

I love Halloween, the fancy dress, the decorations, the horror movies…(once me and my housemates spent about a hundred pounds transforming our flat into a haunted house, haha). The best thing I ever did on Halloween, was go to Alton Towers a few years ago. We had so much fun doing the zombie walk and going into the haunted castle. This year I can’t wait to dress up my little boy although I think he’s probably still too little for trick or treating!

Fireworks Night

I love fireworks night! Sometimes I’ll go to the display at Beaumaris or to a friend’s house if they’re putting something on. Last year I missed out because my son was just a little baby, but I might let him stay up this year. Otherwise, I’ll just watch other people’s displays from my bedroom window!

More National Trust Adventures

Now that I have my National Trust membership I’m going to visit a few more of their properties, I’m going to go back to Plas Newydd as it’s just down the road, but I’m also looking forward to returning to Bodnant Garden and seeing what it’s like in winter.

Pili Palas

Pili Palas is a butterfly palace which is local to me, and it is mainly indoors, so it’s a good place to go when it’s raining. They’ve recently opened a soft play area too, which is perfect for my very active child.

The C Word

I know, I know, it’s still very early to be thinking of *whispers* Christmas, and I’m honestly not one of those people who have their tree up mid-November, but I still love the festive feeling in the air and in particular, buying gifts! I always said I’d never be the type of mum who buys piles and piles of presents but it’s really hard not to go overboard with toys for my son because there are so many cool ones out there! I didn’t do too much with him last year but I’d like to take him to see Santa this year and I’ll be keeping an eye out for local Christmas markets too.

Walks in the Woods

Is there anything that says Autumn better than a pile of crisp red-brown leaves? I don’t think so. Getting fresh air and exercise is really important all year round, but in winter, I think it’s even more essential to get out and about during the day. One of my favourite local places is the Dingle in Llangefni, last year we did quite a few Autumn walks there. It’s a real hidden gem on Anglesey.

What are your Autumn plans?

Leave a Reply

